2019 Annual State Meeting

October 12th forty-four messengers from fifteen churches of the BMA of MO gathered in Sikeston for our Annual Association. This meeting was earlier in October than our previous meetings due to Bylaw changes made last year.

Bethel Baptist Church and Pastor Billy Davis were gracious hosts for the Association’s 92nd annual meeting. After a morning devotional from John 14:6 by Bro. Troy Sisk, Moderator Ben Kingston called the business meeting to order.

Two churches re-petitioned into membership with the Association – New Testament at Sullivan, and Friendship at Caseyville. We welcome these congregations back into our fellowship.

Messengers approved the recommendations from the Special Missions Committee to amend the Association bylaws related to Associational officers (see September Missouri Missionary Baptist), and to purchase liability insurance for the Association. This policy combines the present insurance for Camp with additional coverage for other areas of the Association. Payment for the new consolidated policy will be divided as follows: 60% paid by Camp, 20% by Missions, and 20% by the Loan Association.

Other missions-related business included sending $3,000 to the BMAA Seminary (Jacksonville, TX), and continued support for Bro. Matt Barker in Nixa, MO. (Note: Since the meeting Bro. Matt Barker has resigned the work in Nixa.) See article on page 3.

The messengers also approved the Loan Association transferring the interest they receive this year to pay on the Camp Garwood loan. This will amount to approximately $900.

New committeemen elected to the various committees included:

  • Alive Committee – Bro. Brian Buckley (term ending 2023)
  • Publications Committee – Bro. Jim Ainley (2022)
  • Encampment Committee – Bro. Joe McElroy (2024)
  • Special Missions Committee – Bro. Ben Kingston (2026)

Additionally the following were appointed by the moderator:

  • Resolutions Committee – Bros. David Griggs, Billy Davis, Gary Longstaff
  • Enrollment Committee – Bros. Russell Chitwood, Dan Wisely, Matt Bolen

by Don Burke, Association Clerk

Comments are closed.

Site based on the Ministry Theme. Webmaster: Brad Miller